Health Department

Hardy County Commission.  No more than two members who reside in the same magisterial district may be appointed and no more than two members may be appointed who are personally licensed or certified in, engaged in or actively participating in the same business, profession or occupation.  No more than three members may belong to the same political party. 

Current members of the Board of Health are:

BOH Chair: Brenda Peer
Member: Gerald Holt
Member: Nicole Keller
Member: Ed Matheny
Member: Morris Homan, DVM

Each member shall serve a five year term and shall be eligible for reappointment.  Members shall serve until their duly qualified successor has been appointed.  Members may be reappointed for additional terms of five years.
Regular meetings of the Hardy County Board of Health are held four (4) times a year. Notice of these meetings are submitted to media outlets and posted at the health department in advance of the meeting  The board shall comply with the requirements of WV Code regarding open governmental proceedings 6-9A-3.

For more information on Board of Health Meetings click below.

Board of Health

The Hardy County Board of Health has been given the power and authority (under Chapter 16 of the West Virginia Code) to adopt, promulgate and amend Public Health Rules and Regulations, consistent with the laws of the State of WV, as may be necessary and proper for the protection of the general health of Hardy County, and the prevention of the introduction, propagation, and spread of disease.

The Hardy County Board of Health membership is comprised of 5 county residents appointed by the

Administrative Services